ICI's Changing Landscapes Project is Renamed "Art for All: The Stephanie Evelo Fund for Art Inclusion"

A photograph of Stephanie Evelo (1969-2012), inset into one of her colorful paintings.

On March 1, the ICI art initiative formerly known as Changing Landscapes was renamed Art for All: The Stephanie Evelo Fund for Art Inclusion. In line with the new name, the initiative's email address changed to artforall@umn.edu, and there will soon be a full rebranding of its website, Facebook page, and promotional support materials. The art initiative's planning committee suggested the name change after supporters conveyed confusion since the University of Minnesota already has a "Center for Changing Landscapes." While ICI's own initiative has been in place since 2007, it was also felt that the phrase "Changing Landscapes" did not help people understand its connection to the memory of Stephanie Evelo (1969-2012), the inspiration behind this work. Stephanie's parents, David and Sheryl Evelo, are active members and supporters of this effort. For years, major support has come from the Stephanie Evelo Fund for Art Inclusion (formerly the Stephanie Evelo Arts & Disability Memorial Fund) which furthers ICI's mission to celebrate and support artists with disabilities and create a platform to showcase their work. The fund name will change to be consistent with the new program name.

In 2007, the Institute on Community Integration won an award to install exhibits by local artists on campus by partnering with service providers that offered arts programming for people with disabilities. Over the years, 35 art shows and more than 500 works of art have been exhibited throughout Pattee Hall. More recently, ICI expanded its scope by installing exhibits out in the community and seeking partnerships to celebrate the inspiring work of artists with disabilities outside of University walls.

The Art for All: The Stephanie Evelo Fund for Art Inclusion committee is represented by Julia Anderson, Tony Baisley, Megan Dushin, David Evelo, Sheryl Evelo, Nik Fernholz, Sara Foster, Amy Hewitt, Mark Olson, and Cliff Poetz.